! Hells Masquerade
newest
archives
profile
about
cast
pictures
gallery
silent pics
notes
email
links
wishlist
rings
design
host
Thursday, Mar. 03, 2005 - The Hour I Lost my Limb

It's 7am. I've been awake since 545 and only 'cause of the pain in my right arm that violently woke me up. The pain was so great I felt sick to my stomache but I couldn't cry however much I wanted to.

The tylenol took atleast an hour to kick in. During that hour I felt as though I had lost my limb. I felt useless. I didn't trust my left hand to do any more than simple tasks. The realization of how dependant we are on our dominant features hits hard when you're suddenly without them.

I couldn't stir my coffee properly, I didn't know how to hold the spoon. All because at some point lastnight, while relaxing watching TV, I had laid on my folded right arm for too long. It was comfortable at the time but I will not endure that kind of pain for comfort again.

The upside to all this is that the day is mine to do whatever I wish. I could go for a walk with my camera, I could clean my room, I could read the book that's been waiting to be touched. I could write the poem that's been waiting for a voice but I will most likely do nothing because that is what I do.


0 comments so far

before - after